Links

Advancing Human Development

An Introduction to the Human Development and Capability Approach, Edited by Severine Deneulin with Lila Shahani

http://idl-bnc.idrc.ca/dspace/handle/10625/40248

United Nations Development Program http://undp.org

Human Development Reports http://hdr.undp.org/en/

Human Development and Capability Association http://capabilityapproach.org/index.php

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) http://www.oecd.org/

Center for Global Development http://cgdev.org/

UNDP Research for Results in Europe and Central Asia http://developmentandtransition.net/index.cfm

Development Studies Association http://www.devstud.org.uk/index.html

Measure of America, a Project of the Social Science Research Council http://www.measureofamerica.org/

 

Promoting Socially Beneficial Behavior

Greater Good Science Center at UC Berkeley http://greatergood.berkeley.edu/

GOOD, The Social Network for Social Good http://www.good.is/

Yes Magazine – “Powerful Ideas, Practical Actions” http://www.yesmagazine.org/

Idealist (400,000+ members, 70,000+ organizations) www.idealist.org

Dalai Lama Center at MIT for Ethics and Transformation Values http://thecenter.mit.edu/

International Positive Psychology Association (IPPA) http://www.ippanetwork.org/

 

Solving Social Problems

Multi-Focus Problem Solving

Union of Concerned Scientists http://www.ucsusa.org/

Physicians for Social Responsibility http://www.psr.org/

Global Poverty and Hunger

Bread for the World http://www.bread.org/

Oxfam International http://www.oxfam.org/

Food First http://www.foodfirst.org/

World Health

World Health Organization www.who.org

Human Rights

Human Rights Watch http://www.hrw.org/

Economic Equality

Equality Trust www.equalitytrust.org.uk

Gangs and Juvenile Crime

Homeboy Industries – “Jobs not Jails” www.homeboy-industries.org

Law Enforcement and Criminal Justice

American Bar Association’s Criminal Justice Magazine http://www.americanbar.org/publications/criminal_justice_magazine_home.html

Protection of the Environment

Natural Resources Defense Council www.nrdc.org

Green Peace www.greenpeace.org

 

Promoting Understanding of Religious and Secular Viewpoints

Interfaith Organizations

Interfaith Alliance http://www.interfaithalliance.org/

World Bank list of Interfaith Organizations http://web.worldbank.org/WBSITE/EXTERNAL/EXTABOUTUS/PARTNERS/EXTDEVDIALOGUE/0,,contentMDK:20329040~menuPK:1031230~pagePK:64192523~piPK:64192458~theSitePK:537298,00.html

Social Teachings of Religious Bodies

Compendium of the Social Doctrines of the Church http://www.vatican.va/roman_curia/pontifical_councils/justpeace/documents/rc_pc_justpeace_doc_20060526_compendio-dott-soc_en.html

Unitarian Universalist Principles http://www.uua.org/beliefs/principles/

Faith-Based Social Action

American Friends Service Committee http://afsc.org/

Catholic Relief Services http://crs.org/

Religious Action Center of Reform Judaism http://rac.org/index.cfm?

 

Clarifying Philosophical Concepts

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy http://plato.stanford.edu

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: